The 2010 Florida Legislature made some really big changes to the way Florida child support is calculated. The Some changes become effective on October 1, 2010, but most take effect in January 2011. Under current law, the "gross up" method of calculating child support is required when the parent with less time has 40% of annual overnight (144 nights per year) time with the child. The new law requires this calculation when the parent with less time has at least 20% (73 nights) of the yearly overnights. (This will take effect in January).
Here's an example (not adjusted for tax effects): Father earns $3,000/month and Mother earns $2,000. They have 2 kids. Mother pays $100/week for after-care and Father pays $150/month for health insurance for the kids. Under current law, Father owes Mother $955/month. Under the gross up method he owes $504/month total for two children (not each). That's a bit more than a foster parent receives per child per month.
So go ahead and do the math. This is a big change in Florida child support calculation.